Deutsche Version
Seite in Deutsch

 

CAPE-ROBERTS-PROJECT, ANTARCTICA
 

Prof. Dr. Werner Ehrmann, Dipl.-Geol. Marco Neumann, Dipl.-Geol. K. Polozek


National Cooperation:
Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research, Bremerhaven
Leibniz Institute for Applied Geosciences, Hannover
International Cooperation:
The Cape Roberts Science Team consisted of scientists from USA, Australia, New Zealand, Great Britain, Italy, Netherlands and Germany.
German Funding of the Project:
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, Bonn
Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research, Bremerhaven

 

 
Scientific Background:

Antarctica exerts strong control on the athmospheric and oceanic circulation patterns of the earth. This makes the Antarctic ice sheet to one of the most important features controlling the global climate and sea level. Melting of the Antarctic ice would result in a sea level rise by about 70 m. For a better understanding of processes and causes responsible for climate and sea level changes, it is therefore of high importance to reconstruct the glacial history of Antarctica. The Antarctic data also gain increasing interest for predicting future climatic trends.
 
 
 
Drill Core
CRP-1 (1997)
CRP-2 (1998)
CRP-3 (1999)
Location
Water Depth
Distance to Coast
Sea Ice Thickness

Participant
First Core
Last Core
Penetration
Core Recovery

Depth to First Core
Quaternary + ?Pliocene
Lower Mioc. + Oligocene
Basement (Devonian)

77.008°S; 163.755°E
153 m
16.0 km
1.6 m

Ehrmann
17. Oktober
24. Oktober
148 m
86 %

15 m
28 m
105
0 m

77.006°S; 163.719°E
178 m
14,2 km
2,0 m

Ehrmann, Polozek
16. Oktober
25. November
624 m
94 %

5 m
22 m
597 m
0 m

77.011°S; 163.640°E
295 m
11,8 km
2,0 m

Neumann
9. Oktober
19. November
939 m
97 %

2 m
0 m
821 m
116 m


 

Aim of the Project:

The aim of the Cape Roberts Project was to recover early Tertiary sediments from the continental shelf of McMurdo Sound, Ross Sea, Antarctica. The geologists from the University of Leipzig concentrated on reconstructing the Antarctic glacial history, the climate of the past some 34 million years (my), and the uplift of the Transantarctic Mountains. For this purpose, the drill cores were described in detail and sediment samples were investigated with a variety of complementary sedimentological methods.


 
Bohrturm.gif (61095 Byte)
 
leute.gif (74003 Byte)
The drill rig of the Cape Roberts Project had a weight of 50 tons. It was mounted some 15 km off the coast, on 2 m thick sea ice over up to 300 m of water. Note the Transantarctic Mountains in the background.
kerne.gif (82806 Byte)

Different types of sediments from a depth of 125 m in CRP-2/2A. Above: relatively fine-grained sediments; middle: sediments with a coarse ice-rafted component, below: conglomeratic sediments deposited just in front of the ice. The sequence documents a 21.5 my old ice advance, with ice coming from the Transantarctic Mountains and depositing coarse debris at the drill site.

Already in McMurdo Station, Antarctica, samples were taken from the drill cores. About 1000 samples were investigated by the geologists of the Institute for Geophysics and Geology at the University of Leipzig.

 
 
First Results:

The drill cores of the Cape Roberts Project are important archives containing a wealth of information on environmental changes. The sediments mirror sea numerous level changes between 34 and 17.5 my, and they document the climatic and glacial history of Antarctica. The investigations showed that already 34 my ago ice was present in Antarctica, but that the size and the volume of the ice shield fluctuated strongly and frequently. However, no indications were found so far that the ice totally disappeared from Antarctica at any time, or that the ice at least retreated from the coast.


 

Lithology and interpretation of the sedimentary sequence at CRP-1, with a reconstruction of the relative position of the ice margin (Cape Roberts Science Team, 1998). 


 
 
The sediments and the organic remains document a transisition from a cool-temperate climate at 34 my to a subpolar climate at 25 my and finally to a polar climate. The clay mineral assemblages indicate chemical weathering under relatively warm and humid conditions on the Antarctic continent at 34-33 my. Phases with chemical weathering alternated with phases with physical weathering between 33 and 32 my. Intense physical weathering began at 32 my and indicates a cool and dry climate on a largely ice-covered Antarctic continent. The clay minerals indicate a further deterioration of the climate at c. 29 my.

 

Numerous Oligocene and Miocene ice advances could be reconstructed. Polythermal or temperate glaciers expanded out form the Transantarctic Mountains towards the drill site (red dot), occasionally extending beyond. Diamicts accumulated at the drill site. During phases of ice retreat, most ice was gone apart from remnants of valley and tidewater glaciers. Icebergs calved into the sea. Distal glacimarine sediments such as sandstones and mudstones accumulated at the drill site (Cape Roberts Science Team, 1998).
During ice advances in the youngest part of the Early Miocene and the Quaternary, most of the ice masses came from the south, the region of the present-day Ross Ice Shelf. During the retreat phases the situation resembled that of the Oligocene and Miocene, although with most of the icebergs now being derived from the south.


 
 
The detrital components are derived from a variety of different source rocks in the hinterland of the drill site. Debris from the Transantantarctic Mountains is much more abundant than debris from the volcanic rocks cropping out in the south of McMurdo Sound. The systematic analysis of the detrital components indicates that already 34 my ago the Transantarctic Mountains probably were almost as high as today. In the first instance, erosion removed mainly the upper parts of the Beacon Supergroup and the volcanic rocks of the Ferrar Group. Since about 24 my erosion products of the basement areas dominate. The change in the composition therefore documents the gradual incision of the valleys into the Transantarctic Mountains.

In a depth of 790 m, the drill core CRP-3 penetrated into more than 350 my old sandstones of the Beacon Supergroup. The sandstones look very similar as those cropping out in the higher parts of the Transantarctic Mountains, only 50 km away. The difference in altitude is more than 3000 m and asks for strong vertical displacement accompanying the formation of the Transantarctic Mountains and the Ross Sea.

The cored sediments also document the history of the volcanic activity in the McMurdo Sound area and show that volcanism similar to that of the McMurdo Volcanic Group already started some 25 my ago, although the oldest outcrops on land are only 19 my old.
 

Publications:

The project resulted in several publications on the bulk mineralogy of the sediments and of the composition and distribution of the clay mineral and heavy mineral fractions (cf. publication list of the Geology Division of our institute).

english version
English Page
CAPE-ROBERTS-BOHRPROJEKT, ANTARKTIS
 

Prof. Dr. Werner Ehrmann, Dipl.-Geol. Marco Neumann, Dipl.-Geol. K. Polozek


Nationale Zusammenarbeit:
Alfred-Wegener-Institut für Polar- und Meeresforschung, Bremerhaven
Institut für Geowisenschaftliche Gemeinschaftsaufgaben, Hannover (BGR)
Internationale Zusammenarbeit:
Das "Cape Roberts Science Team" besteht aus Wissenschaftler aus USA, Australien, Neuseeland, Großbritannien, Italien und Deutschland.
Projektförderung:
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, Bonn
Alfred-Wegener-Institut für Polar und Meeresforschung, Bremerhaven

 

 
Hintergrund des Projektes:

Die Antarktis ist die "Klimamaschine" der Erde. Die heutigen atmosphärischen und ozeanischen Zirkulationsmuster der Erde sowie ihre Änderungen im Laufe der Erdgeschichte werden nämlich maßgeblich vom Eisschild der Antarktis gesteuert. Änderungen in der Größe und im Volumen des Eisschildes haben damit globale Auswirkungen auf das Klima und auf den Meeresspiegel. Würde alles antarktische Eis abschmelzen, so würde der Meeresspiegel um etwa 70 m ansteigen. Um die Prozesse und Ursachen zu verstehen, die für Klimaänderungen und Meeresspiegelschwankungen verantwortlich sind, ist daher die Rekonstruktion der Entwicklungsgeschichte des antarktischen Eisschildes vorrangig. Die Daten aus der Antarktis gewinnen auch zunehmend an Bedeutung, wenn es darum geht, zukünftige Entwicklungen vorauszusagen.
 
 
 
Bohrung
CRP-1 (1997)
CRP-2 (1998)
CRP-3 (1999)
Lage
Wassertiefe
Entfernung zur Küste
Meereisdicke
Teilnehmer
Erster Kern
Letzter Kern
Bohrtiefe
Kerngewinn

Tiefe bis zum 1. Kern
Quartär + ?Pliozän
Unt. Miozän + Oligozän
Grundgebirge (Devon)
 

 
77.008°S; 163.755°E
153 m
16,0 km
1,6 m
Ehrmann
17. Oktober
24. Oktober
148 m
86 %

15 m
28 m
105
0 m
 

 
77.006°S; 163.719°E
178 m
14,2 km
2,0 m
Ehrmann, Polozek
16. Oktober
25. November
624 m
94 %

5 m
22 m
597 m
0 m
 

 
77.011°S; 163.640°E
295 m
11,8 km
2,0 m
Neumann
9. Oktober
19. November
939 m
97 %

2 m
0 m
821 m
116 m
 

Ziele des Projektes:

Das Cape-Roberts-Projekt zielte darauf ab, mit Hilfe sich stratigraphisch überlappender Bohrungen auf dem Kontinentalschelf des McMurdo-Sunds im Rossmeer der Antarktis frühtertiäre Sedimente zu beproben. Das Leipziger Vorhaben sollte sich darauf konzentrieren, neue Erkenntnisse über die Geschichte der antarktischen Vereisung und des Klimas in den letzten etwa 34 Millionen Jahren (Ma) zu gewinnen sowie die Aufstiegsgeschichte der 5000 km langen Bergkette des Transantarktischen Gebirges zu rekonstruieren. Dazu sollten die Bohrkerne des Cape-Roberts-Projekts detailliert beschrieben, beprobt und mit mehreren, sich ergänzenden sedimentologischen Methoden untersucht werden. 


 
Bohrturm.gif (61095 Byte)
 
leute.gif (74003 Byte)
Der etwa 50 Tonnen schwere Bohrturm des Cape Roberts-Projektes. Er stand ca. 15 km vor der Küste der Antarktis, auf nur 2 m dickem Meereis. Gebohrt wurde in bis zu 300 m Wassertiefe. Im Hintergrund ist das Transantarktische Gebirge zu erkennen.
kerne.gif (82806 Byte)

Verschiedene glaziale Sedimente, die in einer Tiefe von etwa 125 m im Bohrkern CRP-2/2A angetroffen wurden. Oben: relativ feinkörnige Sedimente; Mitte: Sedimente mit eisbergtransportierten Komponenten; Unten: konglomeratische Sedimente, die direkt vor einer Eismasse abgelagert wurden. Die Abfolge dokumentiert einen Eisvorstoß aus dem Transantarktischen Gebirge vor etwa 21,5 Millionen Jahren, bei dem das Eis grobe Erosionsprodukte aus dem Gebirge ablagerte.

Die Beprobung der Bohrkerne fand bereits in McMurdo Station in der Antarktis statt. Jedes Fähnchen markiert die Position einer Probe. Etwa 1000 Proben gingen zur sedimentologischen Bearbeitung an das Institut für Geophysik und Geologie der Universität Leipzig.

 
 
Einige Ergebnisse:

Die Bohrkerne sind für die Geologen ein reichhaltiges Archiv, das die Umweltbedingungen der Vergangenheit gespeichert hat. Sie enthalten Sedimente, die Veränderungen der Umweltbedingungen für die Zeit vor 34 bis 17,5 Ma abbilden und Informationen über Meeresspiegelschwankungen liefern. Erste Untersuchungen zeigen, daß bereits vor 34 Ma Eis in der Antarktis vorhanden war, daß die Größe und das Volumen des Eisschildes aber im Laufe der Geschichte zahlreichen und starken Schwankungen unterlagen. Es wurden jedoch keine Hinweise gefunden, daß sich das Eis, nachdem die Vereisung entstanden war, zu irgendeiner Zeit vollständig aus der Antarktis oder auch nur von der Küste zurückzog. 


 

Lithologie und Interpretation der Sedimentabfolge im Bohrkern CRP-1 mit einer Rekonstruktion der Eisrandlage (Cape Roberts Science Team, 1998).


 
 
Die Sedimente und ihre organischen Inhalte dokumentieren einen Wechsel von einem kühl-temperierten Klima vor 34 Ma zu einem subpolaren Klima vor 25 Ma und schließlich zu einem polaren Klima. Die von uns untersuchten Vergesellschaftungen von Tonmineralen zeigen für den antarktischen Kontinent im Zeitraum 34-33 Ma chemische Verwitterung unter relativ warmen und feuchten Bedingungen an. Zwischen 33 und 32 Ma alternierten Phasen mit chemischer Verwitterung und Phasen mit physikalischer Verwitterung. Vor 32 Ma setzte intensive physikalische Verwitterung ein und weist auf ein kühles, trockeneres Klima auf einem zumindest großteils eisbedeckten Kontinent hin. Vor ca. 29 Ma fand eine weitere Verschärfung des Klimas und der Verwitterungbedingungen statt. 

 

Für das Oligozän und unterste Miozän wurden zahlreiche Eisvorstöße rekonstruiert, bei denen das Eis aus der Ostantarktis kommend durch das Transantarktischen Gebirge floß und bis nahe an die Bohrposition (roter Punkt) heran, oder über sie hinweg, auf dem Untergrund auflag. Während dieser Zeiten wurden Diamikte abgelagert. Während der oligozänen und miozänen Rückzugsphasen hatte sich das Eis in die Täler des Transantarktischen Gebirges hinein zurückgezogen. Von den Gletschern kalbten Eisberge und drifteten ins offene Meer hinaus. An der Bohrstelle kamen distale glazialmarine Sedimente wie Sande, Silte und Tone zur Ablagerung (Cape Roberts Science Team, 1998).
Bei den Eisvorstößen des jüngsten Teils des Untermiozäns und des Quartärs kam der Großteil des Eises aus Süden, aus dem Bereich des heutigen Ross-Schelfeises. Während der quartären Rückzugsphasen sah die Situation ähnlich wie während der oligozänen Rückzugsphasen aus, mit dem Unterschied, daß nun die Eisberge fast alle aus Süden kamen.


 
 
Die detritischen Komponenten weisen auf eine Vielzahl von verschiedenen Liefergesteinen in der Umgebung der Bohrstelle hin. Detritus aus dem Transantarktischen Gebirge dominiert über Detritus aus den vulkanischen Gesteinen im Süden des McMurdo-Sunds. Die Analyse zeigt, daß das Transantarktische Gebirge wahrscheinlich bereits vor 34 Ma annähernd seine heutige Höhe erreicht hatte. Die Erosion entfernte jedoch zunächst vor allem die höher lagernden Sedimente der Beacon Supergroup und die Vulkanite der Ferrar Group. Seit etwa 24 Ma dominieren Erosionsprodukte aus den Grundgebirgsarealen. Die Änderung im Mineralspektrum dokumentiert also, wie sich die Täler immer stärker in das Transantarktische Gebirge einschnitten.

In einer Tiefe von 790 m stieß CRP-3 auf über 350 Ma alte Sandsteine (Beacon Sandsteine), wie sie heute auf den Gipfeln des nur 50 km entfernten Transantarktischen Gebirges zu finden sind. Der Höhenunterschied von mehr als 3000 m zeigt das Ausmaß der vertikalen Bewegungen, die die Bildung des heutigen Transantarktischen Gebirges und des Rossmeeres begleitet haben. 

Die Sedimente der Bohrungen dokumentieren auch die Geschichte der vulkanischen Aktivität im McMurdo-Sund und zeigen, daß Vulkanismus ähnlich dem der McMurdo Volcanic Group bis 25 Ma zurückreicht, also wesentlich weiter, als Aufschlüsse an Land belegen (19 Ma). 
 
 

Publikationen:

Aus dem Projekt sind bereits zahlreiche Publikationen entstanden, die in der Publikationsliste der Abteilung Geologie aufgelistet sind.