Distribution of heavy minerals in Cenozoic sediments of McMurdo Sound, Antarctica: Reconstruction of source areas and fluctuations of the ice shield
 

Dipl.-Geol. Kerstin Polozek, Prof. Dr. Werner Ehrmann


 
Scientific Background:
During various drilling campaigns, a series of sediment cores has been recovered along the margin of the Transantarctic Mountains in the McMurdo Sound area (Ross Sea, Pacific sector of the Southern Ocean). The sediments are early Oligocene to Quaternary in age. Despite of intense investigations, little has been known so far on the source area of the sediments and on the Cenozoic ice dynamics.

 
 
Scientific Objectivs:
This study encompassed an investigation of the heavy mineral composition of early Oligocene to Quaternary glacial and glaciomarine sediment sequences from the Victoria Land Basin and the fjords of the South Victoria Land, Ross Sea, Antarctica. The main objectives were to identify possible source rocks and to unravel the provenance regions of different heavy minerals and minerals groups. Moreover, with the available data an attempt to reconstruct the general development and configuration of the Antarctic ice sheets during the Cenozoic was also made.

 
 
 

Fig. 1: Map of the McMurdo Sound of the Ross Sea with locations of the investigated drill cores. All sediment cores except DVDP-12 were drilled from a sea ice platform. Bedrock geology is simplified after Warren (1969).

 
 
Results:
Two quite different source regions of the heavy minerals have been identified. One provenance area, the South Victoria Land of the Transantarctic Mountains, consisting of rocks from the Skelton Group, was the main source of the Oligocene-Pliocene sediment sequence. In most cases, significant heavy mineral abundance fluctuations within this major association can be related to advances and retreats of glaciers from the Transantarctic Mountains. A quite different source area is the McMurdo Volcanic Group in the region of the present-day Ross Ice Shelf. This volcanic area was the major source of the heavy minerals in the Pliocene-Quaternary sediment sequence.

The heavy mineral assemblages of the sediment sequences studied reflect the erosional work done by the glaciers in the hinterland. The data support that no major change of the glacier catchment areas has taken place since the Oligocene. The rock debris that were eroded and transported toward the sea by the Taylor, Ferrar, and Mackay Glacier, show heavy minerals assemblages that are typical for the catchment areas of the respective glaciers. Since the Lower Oligocene, the Transantarctic Mountains glaciers slid in several phases in the direction of the McMurdo Sound in the Ross Sea. Later, in the Pliocene, grounding ice masses from the region of the present day Ross Ice Shelf advanced from the sea into fjords of the Transantarctic Mountains.

The heavy mineral data support that Cenozoic volcanism in the McMurdo Sound (McMurdo Volcanic Group) began as early as 27 Ma, which is somewhat older than hitherto supposed. The oldest known volcanic rocks of the McMurdo Volcanic Group in the Victoria Land are dated to about 25 Ma. As magnetic anomalies in the McMurdo Sound support the occurrence of volcanic rocks in that area, a likely candidate for the early volcanic detritus observed in the cores might be found there. 

The sediment cores DVDP-12 (Taylor Valley) and CIROS-2 (Ferrar Fjord) can be well correlated using their heavy mineral spectra and abundance patterns. In both cores, the heavy mineral assemblages in the older Pliocene sediments support a source region in the Transantarctic Mountains. In the Upper Pliocene to Pleistocene sequences, the assemblages indicate an additional source from Ross Sea ice masses originating in West Antarctica. Using the heavy mineral spectra as a correlation tool, it has been possible to place the hitherto insufficiently dated core DVDP-12 within a more sharply defined stratigraphic context.


 
 

Fig. 2: Distribution of the main heavy mineral groups in the drill core CIROS-2 (Ehrmann & Polozek, 1999). The heavy minerals document different source areas and therewith major changes in the ice dynamics. During both subunit 1.1 and 1.2 the ice discharged through the Transantarctic Mountains into McMurdo Sound. Characteristic heavy minerals are apatite, zircon, titanite, garnet, epidote and green hornblende. Grains of subglacially erupted volcanic rocks (brown hornblende and palagonit) are present in subunit 1.1, but missing in subunit 1.2. In the Quaternary, the source area shifted to the south, to the region of the present-day Ross Ice Shelf. The sediments are characterized by pyroxene, titanaugite, altered minerals and opaque minerals.


 
 
Publications:

Ehrmann, W. & Polozek, K. (1999): The heavy mineral record in the Pliocene to Quaternary sediments of the CIROS-2 drill core, McMurdo Sound, Antarctica. - Sedimentary Geology, 128: 223-244.

Polozek, K. (2000): Distribution of heavy minerals in CRP-2/2A, Victoria Land Basin, Antarctica. - Terra Antartica, 7 (4): 567-573.

Polozek, K. (2002): Die Schwermineralverteilung känozoischer Sedimente des McMurdo-Sunds, Ross-Meer, Antarktis: Rekonstruktion von Liefergebieten und Eisschildfluktuationen. ? Dissertation, Universität Leipzig, 120 S.

Polozek, K. & Ehrmann, W. (1998): Distribution of heavy minerals in CRP-1. - Terra Antartica, 5 (3): 633-638.

english version
English Page

 
 
 
 
 
Schwermineralverteilung in känozoischen Sedimenten des McMurdo-Sunds, Antarktis: Rekonstruktion von Liefergebieten und Eisschildfluktuationen
 

Dipl.-Geol. Kerstin Polozek, Prof. Dr. Werner Ehrmann


 
Hintergrund:
Auf dem Schelf des McMurdo-Sunds im Rossmeer der Antarktis (pazifischer Sektor des Südpolarmeeres) wurden mehrere Bohrungen entlang des Randes des Transantarktischen Gebirges abgeteuft. Die Bohrkerne erschließen unteroligozäne bis quartäre Sedimente. Über die Liefergebiete der Sedimente, die Ablagerungsbedingungen und die Eisdynamik zur Zeit der Ablagerung ist bisher relativ wenig bekannt.

 
 
Untersuchungen:
Die räumliche und zeitliche Verteilung der Schwerminerale in den Bohrungen CIROS-2, MSSTS-1, CRP-1, CRP-2/2A im McMurdo-Sund und DVDP-12 im Taylor-Tal des Transantarktischen Gebirges wurde untersucht. Mit Hilfe der Datensätze wurden die Liefergebiete der känozoischen und heutigen Gletscher rekonstruiert und damit Rückschlüsse auf die Dynamik der Eismassen, auf die Ausdehnung des Eises zu verschiedenen Zeiten und auf die Aufstiegsgeschichte des Transantarktischen Gebirges gezogen.

 
 
 

Abb. 1:Übersichtskarte des Untersuchungsgebietes im McMurdo-Sund des Rossmeeres mit der Lage der untersuchten Bohrungen. Alle Bohrungen außer DVDP-12 wurden vom Meereis aus abgeteuft. Die Geologie des Hinterlandes wurde stark vereinfacht nach Warren (1969).

 
 
Ergebnisse:
Anhand der in den Sedimentabfolgen der Bohrkerne abgelagerten Schwermineralvergesellschaftungen konnten zwei verschiedene Liefergebiete identifiziert werden. Ein Liefergebiet im Süd-Victoria-Land des Transantarktischen Gebirges, welches aus Gesteinen der Skelton-Gruppe, des Granite-Harbour-Intrusiv-Komplexes, der Beacon-Supergruppe und der Ferrar-Gruppe besteht, wird als Quelle eines Großteils der oligozänen bis pliozänen Sedimente abgenommen. Signifikante Häufigkeitsfluktuationen der Schwerminerale innerhalb dieser Vergesellschaftung können in den meisten Fällen auf Vorstöße bzw. Rückzüge der Gletscher des Transantarktischen Gebirges zurückgeführt werden. Das zweite Liefergebiet setzt sich aus Gesteinen der McMurdo-Vulkanit-Gruppe zusammen, die in der Region des heutigen Ross-Schelfeises anstehen. Dieses Herkunftsgebiet trägt entscheidend zur Schwermineralzusammensetzung der pliozänen bis quartären Sedimente bei.

Die Schwermineralverteilungen in den Sedimentabfolgen der Bohrungen lassen Rückschlüsse auf die Erosionsintensität der Gletscher im jeweiligen Hinterland zu und zeigen, dass sich das Einzugsgebiet der Gletscher seit dem Oligozän nicht wesentlich verändert haben kann. Der Gesteinsdetritus, der durch Taylor-, Ferrar- und Mackay-Gletscher erodiert und meerwärts transportiert wurde, zeigt für das Einzugsgebiet des jeweiligen Gletschers typische Schwermineralkonzentrationen. Die Gletscher schoben sich seit dem unteren Oligozän in mehreren Phasen in Richtung McMurdo-Sund des Ross-Meeres vor. Seit spätestens dem Pliozän stießen aufliegende Eismassen aus der Region des heutigen Ross-Schelfeises bis in die Fjorde des Transantarktischen Gebirges vor.

Die Schwermineralanalysen an den untersuchten Sedimentkernen weisen darauf hin, dass der känozoische Vulkanismus im McMurdo-Sund (McMurdo-Vulkanit-Gruppe) mit 27 Ma vermutlich älter ist als bisher angenommen. Die ältesten bekannten Gesteine der MVG des Victoria Landes sind 25 Ma alt. Als Quelle des vulkanogenen Detritus werden Vulkanbauten im McMurdo-Sund angenommen, auf die auch magnetische Anomalien hindeuten.

Die Sedimente der Bohrkerne DVDP-12 (Taylor-Tal) und CIROS-2 (Fjord des Ferrar-Tales) können mittels ihrer Schwermineralspektren und ?häufigkeitsfluktuationen gut miteinander korreliert werden. In beiden Bohrkernen weisen die Schwermineralvergesellschaftungen in den älteren pliozänen Sedimenten auf den Eintrag von durch Gletscher erodierten Gesteinsdetritus aus dem Transantarktischen Gebirge hin. Die Zusammensetzung des Schwermineralspektrums in den jüngeren oberpliozänen bis pleistozänen Abfolgen wird in beiden Bohrungen zusätzlich durch den Terrigeneintrag von aus der Westantarktis in das Ross-Meer vordringenden Eismassen beeinflusst. Die Korrelation der Bohrkerne DVDP-12 und CIROS-2 anhand ihrer Schwermineralspektren und ?häufigkeitsfluktuationen ermöglichte eine neue stratigraphische Einordnung des bislang nur unzulänglich datierten Sedimentkerns DVDP-12.


 
 

Abb. 2:Verteilung der wichtigsten Schwermineralgruppen im Bohrkern CIROS-2 (Ehrmann & Polozek, 1999). Die Schwerminerale weisen auf unterschiedliche Liefergebiete und damit auf Änderungen in der Eisdynamik hin. Während Subunit 1.1 und 1.2 kam das Eis aus dem Transantarktischen Gebirge und brachte vor allem Apatit, Zirkon, Titanit, Granat, Epidot und grüne Hornblende. Während Subunit 1.1 wurden zusätzlich subglazial geförderte vulkanische Gesteine abgetragen, was durch die Gehalte an brauner Hornblende und Palagonit belegt wird. Im Quartär verlagerte sich das Liefergebiet nach Süden, in die Gegend des heutigen Ross-Schelfeises. Typische Schwerminerale sind nun Pyroxen, Titanaugit, alterierte Minerale und opake Minerale.


 
 
Publikationen:

Ehrmann, W. & Polozek, K. (1999): The heavy mineral record in the Pliocene to Quaternary sediments of the CIROS-2 drill core, McMurdo Sound, Antarctica. - Sedimentary Geology, 128: 223-244.

Polozek, K. (2000): Distribution of heavy minerals in CRP-2/2A, Victoria Land Basin, Antarctica. - Terra Antartica, 7 (4): 567-573.

Polozek, K. (2002): Die Schwermineralverteilung känozoischer Sedimente des McMurdo-Sunds, Ross-Meer, Antarktis: Rekonstruktion von Liefergebieten und Eisschildfluktuationen. ? Dissertation, Universität Leipzig, 120 S.

Polozek, K. & Ehrmann, W. (1998): Distribution of heavy minerals in CRP-1. - Terra Antartica, 5 (3): 633-638.