Late Quaternary climatic and environmental history of
East Antarctica


Martin Melles
Sabrina Ortlepp


Cooperation:

Damian Gore, Duanne White
Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia
Peter Doran
University of Illinois at Chicago, USA
Sergej Verkulich
Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute, St. Petersburg, Russia
Dominic Hodgson
British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge, United Kingdom
Andrew McMinn, John Gibbson
University of Tasmania, Hobart, Australia
Holger Cremer
University Utrecht, The Netherlands
Bernd Wagner
Institute for Baltic Sea Research, Warnemünde, Germany
Hans-W. Hubberten, Bernhard Diekmann
Alfred Wegener Institute, Potsdam, Germany


Funding: German Research Foundation (DFG)



Background

Antarctica, covered by 97 % with continental ice masses and being surrounded by a wide and variable sea-ice belt, is known to be a key area for global climate change. Variations in the volume of the continental ice masses have direct impact on global sea level. The extensions of the ice sheet and sea ice influence oceanic and atmospheric circulation and, due to the high albedo, global heat balance. Despite extensive international research during the past decades, it is still insufficiently understood how the Antarctic Ice Sheet will react on future climate change.


 

Investigations

In order to achieve a better understanding of the ice sheet dynamics complex reconstructions of the natural climatic and environmental changes that have occurred in presently ice-free coastal areas (oases) along the ice margin during late Quaternary times are conducted since the early 90th in collaboration particularly with Russian, Australian and USAmerican scientists (see Figure and Table). Amongst the natural archives of past climatic and environmental settings predominantly sediment records at the bottom of presently existing lakes and coastal maine basins are studied. These records frequently hold complex information in their heterogenic compositions, were formed continuously, are well preserved, and frequently can accurately be dated.


 

 

The sediment cores as yet recovered usually reflect the regional history following the last ice coverage. The coring sites in the oases Schirmacher, Untersee, Bunger, and Amery presumably were last ice covered during the Late Weichselian glacial, which had its maximum about 18.000 years ago. At two locations on the Windmill Islands, Middle Weichelian subaquatic sediments were penetrated beneath Late Weichselian moraines. Only the sampling sites in the Dry Valleys, which currently are investigated within the scope of a project funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG, grant no. ME 1169/11), have remained unglaciated during the Late Weichselian. These cores, therefore, offer the unique opportunity to study the climatic and environmental history without interruption over an entire glacial-interglacial cycle.


 
Oases
Region
Expedition
Cooperation
Schirmacher-Oasis
Queen-Maud-Land
1991/92
Russia
Untersee-Oasis
Queen-Maud-Land
1991/92
Russia
Bunger-Oasis
Wilkes-Land
1993/94
Russia
Windmill-Islands
Wilkes-Land
1998/99
Australia
Amery-Oasis
Prince-Charles-Berge
2001/02
Australia
Dry Valleys
South-Victoria-Land
2002/03
USA

 
Present results

The results as yet existing evidence that the Holocene climate history along the Antarctic ice margin has experienced large regional differenes, contingent upon the specific geographical characteristics. The climate development in individual oases often can be correlated neither with the developments in other oases nor with the development on the central ice sheet. In a similar manner the glaciation history shows distinct regional differences. Migrations of the ice edges are not exclusively triggered by variations in melt rates in dependence on temperature changes. Of importance for the mass balance is also the degree of precipitation, which depends on the sea-ice coverage on the adjacent ocean and the atmospheric circulation pattern. Additionally, the position of the ice margin is controlled by the regional sea level, with transgressions being instrumental for disequilibrating the ice masses, thus leading to enhanced deglaciation by increased iceberg calving.


 

Future prospects

In order to achieve a better understanding of the interactions at the Antarctic ice margin, and to provide predictions for the reaction of the ice on global climate change, the running investigations shall in international collaboration be expanded on additional oases, be added by investigations on the adjacent continental shelves , and be used for the validation of numerical ice sheet models.

On the basis of our previous studies, new sediment sequences shall be recovered during an expedition with the German RV "Polarstern" in early 2007 from the continental shelf of Prydz Bay as well as from the Rauer Group and Amery Oasis in the hinterland ( see Map ). The samples shall be investigated in close collaboration with national and international partners within the scope of a DFG project that was submitted in Dec. 2005. The results promise a significantly enhanced understanding of the interactions between the glacial history and variations in relative sea level, in climate, and in oceanography along a S-N transect from the inner ice sheet via the coast towards the shelf edge of the Prydz Bay. They shall be used to validate a new numerical model of the Lambert Glacier / Amery Ice Shelf drainage system, the word´s largest fjord system that drains about a quarter of the Antarctic Ice Sheet.

Spätquartäre Umwelt- und Klimageschichte der Ostantarktis

Martin Melles
Sabrina Ortlepp


Kooperationen:

Damian Gore, Duanne White
Macquarie University, Sydney, Australien
Peter Doran
University of Illinois at Chicago, USA
Sergej Verkulich
Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute, St. Petersburg, Russland
Dominic Hodgson
British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge, Großbritannien
Andrew McMinn, John Gibbson
University of Tasmania, Hobart, Australien
Holger Cremer
University Utrecht, Holland
Bernd Wagner
Institute for Baltic Sea Research, Warnemünde
Hans-W. Hubberten, Bernhard Diekmann
Alfred Wegener Institute, Potsdam


Förderung: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)



Hintergrund

Der Antarktis kommt für die Gestaltung des Klimageschehens auf der Erde eine Schlüsselstellung zu. Sie ist zu 97 % mit einem Eisschild bedeckt und lange Zeit im Jahr von einem breiten Meereisgürtel umgeben. Veränderungen im Volumen der kontinentalen Eismassen wirken sich direkt auf den globalen Meeresspiegel aus. Die geographische Ausdehnung des Eisschildes und der Meereisbedeckung beeinflusst die ozeanographische und atmosphärische Zirkulation sowie durch die hohe Albedo den Wärmehaushalt der Erde. Trotz intensiver internationaler Forschung in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten ist noch unzureichend verstanden, wie der antarktische Eisschild auf zukünftige Klimaveränderungen reagieren wird.


 

Untersuchungen

Für ein besseres Verständnis der Eisschilddynamik werden seit Anfang der 90er Jahre in internationaler Kooperation insbesondere mit russischen, australischen und amerikanischen Wissenschaftlern umfassende quartärgeologische Untersuchungen in heute eisfreien Küstengebieten (Oasen) der Ostantarktis durchgeführt (siehe Abbildung und Tabelle). Als natürliche Archive der Klima- und Umweltbedingungen in der Vergangenheit werden insbesondere die Sedimente am Grund heute existierender Seen und küstennaher Meeresbecken genutzt, die wegen ihres komplexen Aufbaus, ihrer kontinuierlichen Bildung und ihrer häufig guten Erhaltung und Datierbarkeit dafür besonders gut geeignet sind.


 

 

Die bisher erbohrten Sedimentkerne spiegeln i.d.R. die regionale Geschichte seit der letztmaligen Eisbedeckung wieder. Diese fällt an den Bohrlokationen in den Oasen Schirmacher, Untersee, Bunger und Amery vermutlich in das Spätweichselglazial, das vor ca. 18.000 Jahren seinen Höhepunkt hatte. Auf den Windmill-Inseln wurden an zwei Lokationen spätweichselzeitliche Moränen durchteuft und mittelweichselzeitliche subaquatische Sedimente erreicht. Einzig die Bohrlokationen im Taylor-Tal der Trockentäler, die derzeit im Rahmen eines DFG-Projektes (Az: ME 1169/11) untersucht werden, sind im Spätweichsel unvergletschert geblieben. Die Kerne aus dieser Oase eröffnen damit die einzigartige Möglichkeit, die Klima- und Umweltgeschichte lückenlos über einen vollständigen Glazial-Interglazial-Zyklus zu studieren.


 
Oase
Region
Expedition
Kooperation
Schirmacher-Oase
Königin-Maud-Land
1991/92
Rußland
Untersee-Oase
Königin-Maud-Land
1991/92
Rußland
Bunger-Oase
Wilkes-Land
1993/94
Rußland
Windmill-Inseln
Wilkes-Land
1998/99
Australien
Amery-Oase
Prinz-Charles-Berge
2001/02
Australien
Trockentäler
Süd-Viktoria-Land
2002/03
USA

 
Bisherige Ergebnisse

Die bisher vorliegenden Ergebnisse zeigen, daß die holozäne Klimageschichte am antarktischen Eisrand in Abhängigkeit von den spezifischen geographischen Kenngrößen große regionale Unterschiede aufweist. Die Klimaentwicklung in einzelnen Oasen lässt sich häufig weder mit der Entwicklung in anderer Oasen, noch mit der Entwicklung auf dem zentralen Eisschild korrelieren. In ähnlicher Weise zeigt die Vereisungsgeschichte deutiche regionale Unterschiede. Eisrandbewegungen werden nicht ausschließlich über die Temperatur und die davon abhängige Intensität der Abschmelzprozesse gesteuert. Von Bedeutung für die Massenbilanz des Eises sind auch die von der Meereisbedeckung des angrenzenden Ozeans und der atmosphärischen Zirkulation abhängigen Niederschläge. Außerdem wird die Eisrandlage maßgeblich von Veränderungen des regionalen Meeresspiegels gesteuert, wobei Transgressionen eine Destabilisierung der Eismassen und einen verstärkten Eisabbau durch Kalbungsprozesse hervorrufen.


 

Ausblick

Um die komplexen Wechselwirkungen am antarktischen Eisrand besser zu verstehen, und Prognosen zur Reaktion des Eisrandes auf eine globale Klimaveränderung zu erstellen, sollen in internationaler Kooperation die Untersuchungen auf weitere heute eisfreie Küstenregionen der Antarktis ausgedehnt, mit Erkenntnissen vom angrenzenden Kontinentalschelf ergänzt für zur Validierung von numerischen Eisschildmodellen genutzt werden.

Aufbauend auf den bisherigen Untersuchungen sollen Anfang 2007 während einer Expedition mit dem FS "Polarstern” Sedimentsequenzen vom Kontinentalschelf der ostantarktischen Prydz-Bucht sowie aus den heute eisfreien Gebieten der Rauer-Gruppe und der Amery-Oase in der Umgebung der Bucht gewonnen werden ( siehe Karte ). Das Probenmaterial soll im Rahmen eines im Dezember 2005 beantragten DFG-Projektes in enger Kooperation mit in- und ausländischen Partnern bearbeitet werden. Die Ergebnisse versprechen ein erheblich besseres Verständnis der Wechselwirkungen zwischen der Glazialgeschichte und Veränderungen im relativen Meeresspiegel, im Klima und in der Ozeanographie entlang eines S-N-Transektes vom inneren Eisschild über die Küste bis zum Schelfrand der Prydz-Bucht. Die Ergebnisse sollen zur Validierung eines neuen numerischen Modells des Lambert-Gletscher/Amery-Eischelf-Abflusssystems genutzt werden, dem derzeit größten Fjordsystem der Erde, über das etwa ein Viertel der antarktischen Eismassen kanalisiert wird.